What Am I Passionate About?


There are many things in this world that I really, really like. But there is a great separation between liking and passion.

Passion, is, by definition, a strong and barely controllable emotion. So there are good passions, and bad passions. An emotion is not necessarily a good thing.

I don’t think there is anything in my life that I hate with a burning passion, except for boredom. Although, I have a very complicated relationship with boredom…but that’s a story for another time.

The things that I like include the following:

•Singing/songwriting

•Talking with my friends

•Fantasy stories (i.e. The Inheritance Cycle, Dragonriders of Pern, etc. etc.)

•Writing

•Drawing

But are any of these things true passions? This is the question I’m asking myself today.

Music is a big part of my life. If you take music away, it will seem to me that I have little left. When I listen to, perform, or write music, I am typically swept with emotion. And sometimes I am, in fact, unable to control it. So I think music is a passion.

When I talk to my friends, I rarely get emotional. And when I do, it is completely under my control. So that is not a passion, even if it is one of my favorite things to do in the entire world.

Fantasy stories, too, are a huge part of my life, and I think I am comparatively passionate about them. But they are one thing I could live without (although I really hope I would never have to) and are therefore not a passion.

Writing is one of the best things in the universe. If I couldn’t write, I would die. So writing is unquestionably a passion of mine.

Drawing is the last thing on my list. I love to draw and I am emotionally attached to all the drawings I do, if they’re good. I believe that drawing is a passion.

There. I have discovered a little bit about myself today. It’s a good feeling.

Ciao for now,

Mikki

☆ Leave a Comment ☆

