Narcissism


woman-hugging-mirror-280x280

I realized recently that I am the most important person in my life. Everything I know is tainted by my own bias. Everything that happens in my life is connected to me. I am shrouded in a blanket of my own cares and worries. My decisions affect everything I do or say. No matter what I do, I can’t avoid me.

Sure, some people might say that’s narcissistic. And they’re probably dead-on. But narcissism is a natural state for human beings. We can’t escape being obsessed with ourselves because we are constantly surrounded by ourselves. That might just be me, though, because I don’t have a great number of platforms for love but I still have love to give.

Although I am not a fan of my current position in life, I know that I am severely important to at least one person. Even if that person is me. It’s nice to know this when I don’t feel like I’m important to anyone.

So go ahead. Tell me I’m lonely, I’m egotistic. I won’t deny it. I’ve simply found a way to beat the system.

Ciao for now,

Mikki

4 thoughts on “Narcissism

  1. It’s by necessity the human condition. who else is gonna take care of you? your mom and dad, hopefully, and for a relatively short time. Once you have yourself squared away you can focus outward. I had it all backwards and suffered for it.

    1. That’s really insightful. It’s my humble opinion that you’re right. People are usually so caught up in helping or thinking about other people they forget to take care of themselves. Thanks for your reply!

☆ Leave a Comment ☆

